top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaitlyn

Abroad Amidst a Pandemic

Life can be so wildly unexpected. One minute you're living what you think is your normal day-to-day life, and then suddenly that daily routine becomes swept away and you're forced to rethink everything you've known. You begin to construct a new normal, the only way to maintain your sanity and keep moving forward.


Two months ago I was in denial that the pandemic would hit Spain and that we would go on lockdown. I was hopeful it would be resolved before it spread any further, but that was not the case. Despite going on lockdown, and not knowing what the remainder of my time in Spain would look like, I decided to stay. Some may have deemed it a bold move. Why not move back to the U.S. and be with my family during this time? Well, I wasn't ready to be done here. I felt that I still had more to accomplish and more to see. Being the optimist that I am, I wanted to believe I would still have some time at the end of my stay to finally see friends, teachers and students, and even explore more of my surroundings.


Never have the streets of Madrid, the city that never sleeps, looked so empty. Lockdown started March 14th, and has been extended four times, now with an end date of May 24th. The past two months have actually gone by pretty quickly. Living with a friend, I have kept busy by teaching over Zoom, taking online yoga classes, trying new recipes, painting, journaling, and reflecting and researching. While all that is going on is very serious, there are quite a few things to question about how everything is being handled.

Here in Madrid, some common sights include the following: UberEats drivers line up on the sidewalks with their bikes, as they await their next orders. Lines form outside of grocery stores, as people enter one by one, since there is a limit to how many people can be inside. Everyone must put on gloves in order to grocery shop. Long lines wrap around aisles inside the stores. The energy has seemed low at times. But at 8pm every evening, the city takes on a less-serious tone-- neighbors open their windows and step out on their balconies to applaud those who continue to work during the lockdown. Occasionally one apartment blares music from their balcony, and it echoes through the neighborhood. Everyone dances and joyfully sings along. During this 10 minute window, especially in the beginning of lockdown, it was as if the city returned back to life for a moment.

Up until May 4th, we weren't allowed to go outside unless it was for essential trips to the grocery store, pharmacy, bank, etc. That meant no exercising. I still found a way to take in fresh air, even if it meant carrying grocery bags and roaming the deserted streets for a bit to stay sane. Below are some pictures I've taken on my walks. It has definitely been hard to see family and friends back home with more freedoms than us. On May 4th, the lockdown restrictions began to lift, and within certain time tables, people are now permitted to exercise outdoors. Each week, if all goes as planned, restrictions will continue to gradually lift and hopefully by next week, we will be able to eat at restaurants, although only outside, and at a 30% capacity. There finally is a light at the end of this seemingly endless tunnel!

As for school, it seems like we won't be returning, although we're still waiting on a confirmation. While it breaks my heart knowing I won't be able to say goodbye to the kids, I am trying to step into gratitude for the time we did have together.


Although this pandemic threw our life off course, and it may continue to do so for some time, I think it has actually redirected us. For me personally, I know it forced me to reevaluate how I spend my time, how I interact with others, and changed my perception of what's important. It has shown me the insignificance of materials, and the utter importance of time with loved ones. I think it has also enhanced our ability to take an unfortunate situation and make the most of it.


Things probably won't return to our original way of life for quite some time, perhaps not even until the end of this year. And while it's easy to sit and sulk about all that we missed -- trips, events, gatherings, time with friends and family -- if we shift our mindset and consider that maybe we were given this time to slow down, be introspective, and enjoy things that aren't things, I think we can find comfort in that.

52 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Porto

Morocco

Granada

bottom of page