top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaitlyn O'Brien

Settling In

If you asked me a few years ago to envision myself post graduation, I probably would have imagined myself teaching, but it never would have crossed my mind that I’d be teaching in a different country. I guess that’s the beauty in the unpredictability that life has to offer. It guides us in one direction and then suddenly we’re lead in another, but always with a purpose.


Having spent over a month in Madrid, which is just a fraction of the time remaining, I can confidently say I was meant to end up here. While adjusting has had its difficulties, it’s also been a beautiful experience. I’ve met like-minded people from my program as well as others studying in Madrid from different countries.


I feel very confident now with public transportation and my daily commute. In the mornings, I typically leave my apartment just after 8:00 and arrive at school by 9:30. From 1:00-3:00 pm we have a break for lunch, before going back to class from 3:00-4:30. I usually get home around 5:45. A few days a week after school, I give private English lessons to students ranging from 7-18 years old. I enjoy working with a variety of age groups, as they are unique in their own ways.


Despite the lengthy commute, I am thankful to have been placed at such a great school. All the teachers and students have been very welcoming. The excitement they have towards the language assistants is heartwarming. I am so enjoying the elementary setting, even though most of my experience is with high schoolers.


In my free time, I’ve been sightseeing with friends, taking in all that Madrid has to offer. We realized that since we arrived, we’ve been so focused on allowing time to adjust to our routine and run errands that we’ve hardly stopped to appreciate the city and other surroundings. A few weekends ago, we went to Valencia, a city on the east coast. We were able to enjoy a few days under the sun by the ocean, as well as explore the city center and it’s colorful and quiet streets.


This past weekend, I took a day trip to Toledo with a group of friends from my program. Toledo is the former capital of Spain. It’s a medieval city that seamlessly blends together the cultures of Judaism, Islam and Catholicism -- in architecture, monuments, food and music. We felt transported back in time.


While this experience is challenging in more ways than one, I am deeply grateful to be on this journey. It’s teaching me flexibility and faith. I’m learning to not resist, as most things don’t go as planned here and I’m learning to trust in the timing of things, that everything is happening for me and not to me.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page