top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaitlyn O'Brien

Teaching

Small feet shuffle and backpacks roll, racing off with those pulling them - the bell has rung, signaling the start of the school day. The halls echo with chatter and buzz with energy as students make their way to their classrooms.


“Hello Kaileen!”


The students greet me with smiles on their faces, some running over to give me a hug. This is a normal occurrence, especially after the weekend, as if too much time has passed since we’ve seen each other. As more students enter the room, the chatter grows. Soon I’m surrounded by a chorus of high pitched voices.


The students I work with range from 1st-6th grade. Most days I work with smaller groups of students. For the younger grades, we mostly practice basic vocabulary words. With the older students, I help them practice phrases with more complex grammatical structures, assisting all with their pronunciation. Occasionally I give dictations, or listening exams, as the teachers prefer to expose them to authentic use of the English language. Starting this week, I will be helping prepare a group of 6th graders for their Preliminary English Test (PET), one of the Cambridge English exams they can take to demonstrate an intermediate level of English.

As I work with students throughout the day and ask them questions, I can practically see the wheels turn as they search for the English phrase. For some students, words slide off their tongue, fluidly, without hindrance, while others stumble and fumble in the midst of forming words. It can be a tug of war between the harsher sounding consonants of the English language and their smooth Spanish accent.


There are varying levels of English among grades as well. Some students speak English at home with their parents, while others only have the chance to practice at school. Regardless of their level, it’s important to make the lesson or practice reachable to all students.

As the holidays approach, one of our jobs as language assistants is to teach the students about our traditions and celebrations. For example, for Halloween, I shared pictures of family traditions from the U.S., and then I planned activities for 4th, 5th and 6th graders. This class allowed us to compare and contrast cultural customs from Spain and the United States, while speaking in their target language.


I have to say, I never thought I would enjoy the elementary age as much I do. I love their excitement and joyful attitudes, their ability to be present and curious and playful. They teach me patience. Lots of it. They also teach me love - they possess an unconditional love towards their teachers and friends. There is really so much to learn from these kids, and this is only the beginning.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page